Sugar Free Molasses Spice Cookies

Hello friends!

Oh my goodness! It’s been 3 months since my last post! Sorry about that…I’m a terrible blogger. 😛 I’ve started volunteering at our local animal shelter, which has been an experience. There isn’t always a whole lot to do, but the people there are nice, and I enjoy seeing my furry friends. The day before yesterday I got the wonderful privilege of cleaning out cages! 😀 And I’ve been doing school, so I have some good reasons for having not written… (…of course procrastination didn’t have a thing to do with it….NOT…) 😛

So, let’s talk about this fantastic cookbook I found at the library a couple months ago! It’s called Naturally Sweet, and it’s done by America’s Test Kitchen, and I AM IN LOVE WITH IT. 😀 Everything in it is made with sucanat, coconut sugar, maple syrup, or honey. So no refined sugar! A lot of the recipes in it are made with sucanat, which I hadn’t heard of until I got the cookbook, but to quote Wikipedia, “It is essentially pure dried sugar cane juice. The juice is extracted by mechanical processes, heated, and cooled, forming small brown grainy crystals”. They also have the option to substitute coconut sugar for it, which I do since we don’t have sucanat.

Now, I’m not one of those people who eats healthy all the time, (unfortunately I  don’t have the self-control for it. I love a good burger from McDonald’s and junk food too much) but I have been trying to eat better lately, mostly staying away from sugar, trying to pay attention when I eat and stop when I’m full, that kind of thing. But when you love to bake, it’s kind of hard to not eat sugar! But this cookbook has good recipes for cookies, cakes, frosting, frozen yogurt, and a lot of other things, all without refined sugar! I haven’t tried all of the recipes, but except for one recipe for lemon/poppy seed cookies that I didn’t enjoy, (I’m sure some people would like it, it was just a matter of personal preference.) all of the recipes I’ve tried have all been delicious! Today, I’m going to share one of my favorite recipes from it, Molasses Spice Cookies! It’s a super easy recipe, and super yummy!

 

• Molasses Spice Cookies •

DSC_1290
First, combine 2 1/4 cups flour, 1 1/2 tsp. cinnamon, 1 1/2 tsp. ground ginger, 1 tsp. baking soda, 1/2 tsp. ground cloves, 1/4 tsp. ground allspice, 1/4 tsp. pepper, (I only used 1/8 tsp pepper)  and 1/4 tsp. salt

 

 

DSC_1296
With mixer beat 12 tbsp. softened butter and 3/4 cup + 2/3 cup Sucanat (Or use1 1/2 cups + 2 tbsp. coconut sugar like I did) on medium/high speed until fluffy.

 

 

DSC_1298
Add 1/4 cup whole milk,  1 egg yolk, 1 tbsp. molasses, and 1 tsp. vanilla extract and mix until combined.  Reduce speed to low, and add flour mixture, and mix until combined.

 

 

 

DSC_1300
Give the dough a final mix by hand

 

 

DSC_1302
Cover the bowl with plastic wrap and let the dough rest at room temperature for 30 minutes. Preheat your oven to 350 degrees F  and line two baking sheets with parchment paper

 

 

DSC_1303
Now, the original recipe says “working with scant 3 tbsp. dough at a time, roll into balls and space 2 in. apart on prepared sheets.” Well, those are gonna be some pretty big cookies. (The original recipe also says it makes 16 cookies) What I like to do, is half the dough and use one half to roll into balls (or in my case, spoon onto the sheet 😛 ) for each baking sheet, and put 20 balls on each sheet. They come out the perfect size, not too big, not too small. However, if you want to make big cookies, that is totally up to you. 🙂

 

 

DSC_1289
Bake the cookies one sheet at a time 10-12 minutes, rotating sheet halfway through baking. Since the cookies are already brown, you can’t really use color to decide if they’re done, but you can give the edges of one of the cookies a little poke, and if it’s slightly firm, they should be done.

 

 

DSC_1049
Let cool for a few minutes on baking sheet, than enjoy! The original recipe says to cool completely on the cookie sheet, but what’s the fun in eating cold cookies?? Of course if there are leftovers, than you can’t be picky about the temperature. 😛

 

• Credit for the recipe goes to the Naturally Sweet Cookbook by America’s Test Kitchen •



Molasses Spice Cookies

Ingredients:

  • 2 ¼ cups flour
  • 1 ½ teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • 1 ½ teaspoons ground ginger
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • ½ teaspoon ground cloves
  • ¼ teaspoon ground allspice
  • ¼ teaspoon pepper (Or 1/8 teaspoon, as preferred)
  • ¼ teaspoon salt
  • 12 tablespoons unsalted butter, softened
  • 1 ½ cups + 2 tablespoons coconut sugar (Or 3/4 cup + 2/3 cup Sucanat)
  • 1/4 cup whole milk
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 1 tablespoon molasses
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Directions:

Combine flour, cinnamon, ginger, baking soda, cloves, allspice, pepper and salt in bowl.

In separate bowl, with mixer beat butter and coconut sugar on medium-high speed until fluffy. Add milk, egg yolk, molasses and vanilla and mix until combined. Reduce speed to low and add the flour mixture. Give dough final stir by hand.

Cover bowl with plastic wrap and let rest at room temperature for 30 minutes. Heat oven to 350° F. Line two baking sheets with parchment paper.

Roll dough into balls and place on baking sheets. Bake cookies 1 sheet at a time, until edges of cookies are slightly firm, 10-12 minutes, rotating sheet halfway through baking. Let cookies cool on sheet, than enjoy!

Credit: America’s Test Kitchen



Hope you enjoy this recipe as much as I do!

So, I hope everyone had a good Easter! I had a lovely one. My sister and I colored some eggs, experimenting with different ways to color them, such as putting dye on a toothbrush, (Not one that we currently use ;D ) than flicking it so that it sprays onto the egg, (My idea) and using q-tips to put polka dots on them! (My sister’s idea)

Here are some photos of our egg art:

DSC_1195
example of the toothbrush method

 

 

DSC_1205
these are my eggs – quite lovely, I think! 🙂

 

 

DSC_1210
and this is a collection of both of our handiwork

 

 

And after stuffing ourselves with way too much Easter candy, we walked a short nature trail with our dogs at the local park. And when we came home we had a yummy supper of pot roast! (Thanks, Mom 🙂 )

 

Oh, so on a different topic, I’m not very good at gardening, but this year I got some peppermint and parsley to grow! We shall see how long they last…. 😛

DSC_1288
peppermint on the left, parsley on the right

 

And I also got some little pansies in the clearance section at Walmart for like $0.60! Poor things were droopy and root bound, and now look at them! ⇓

 

DSC_1282

 

DSC_1284

 

All in all, I’m quite pleased with myself for remembering to water them frequently, and keeping them alive and well this long! 😀

And now this long post has come to an end, as I have some dishes to wash, and a kitty telling me she’s hungry. 🙂

Hope everyone has a wonderful week!

♥ melanie ♥

One thought on “Sugar Free Molasses Spice Cookies

Leave a Reply

