Crockpot Queso Blanco Dip

Hey everyone! I apologize for not posting in over a month! ( 😮 ) It’s been a bit busy around here, with the holidays, (By the way, hope everyone had a great Christmas/New Year!) and my Aunt just moved into a new house, so lots of moving and organizing has been going on. Anyway, I’m here now, so yay! 🙂

So, you know that DELICIOUS white cheese dip you get at Mexican restaurants? Have you every thought, “Wow I wish I could make this at home!” Well, you can! And added bonus, it’s super easy! 😉 I was very happy to find this recipe online, and it turned out really yummy.

 

dsc_0877
In crockpot combine 8oz block of cream cheese, 1lb white American cheese, (both cut into about 1/2 inch cubes) 1 tablespoon butter, (Original recipe said salted, I just had unsalted, so I used that and was going to add a little salt to it, but with salted chips, it tasted fine without it)  4oz can green chiles, (I didn’t use all of them) 2 tablespoons cilantro, chopped fine, 1 tablespoon jalapeños, minced fine (Both of those last two are optional, I didn’t use them)  

 

dsc_0879
Cook on high for 30 minutes 

 

 

dsc_0881
After the 30 minutes are up, stir until well mixed and add a tablespoon of milk and a tablespoon of water at a time until the mixture is as thick as you want. (no more than 4 tablespoons of each liquid) Cook for another 15-20 minutes until the cheeses are all melted. Stir again until it’s all combined

 

 

dsc_0884
Keep it on low until you’re ready to serve it. (Or if you’re like me, you can just eat it straight out of the crockpot by yourself while it’s hot and fresh) 😀 Oh, and by the way, if you let it sit a while in the crockpot, it will get a layer of thicker cheese on top

 

Store in the fridge in a plastic container. To reheat, put it in the microwave with one teaspoon of water for 30 seconds. Stir and add another teaspoon of water if you need to. Heat 30 seconds at a time until hot. (I haven’t tried that part yet. I just made this today, and I ate some and put the rest in the fridge, and I haven’t gotten a chance to try the microwave)

Original recipe here



 

Crockpot Queso Blanco Dip

Ingredients:

  • 8oz block cream cheese cut into 1/2 inch cubes
  • 1 lb white American cheese cut in 1/2 inch cubes
  • 1 tablespoon salted or unsalted butter
  • 1  4oz can green chiles
  • 2 tablespoons cilantro finely chopped (optional)
  • 1 tablespoon jalapeños finely minced (optional)
  • 3-4 tablespoons milk
  • 3-4 tablespoons water

Directions:

In a crockpot combine the cream cheese, American cheese, butter, green chiles, cilantro and jalapeños (If you’re using those last two ingredients). Cook on high for 30 minutes. Stir the mixture until well combined and then add a tablespoon of milk and water at a time until it’s as thick as you want. Cook for another 15-20 minutes, until the cheese is completely melted and give it another good stir until it’s all combined.

Keep cheese dip in the slow cooker on the warm setting until ready to serve. (Although If you let it sit too long, it will get a top layer of thicker cheese)

Store leftovers in the refrigerator in a plastic container. To warm, place in the microwave with 1 teaspoon of water for 30 seconds. Stir and add another teaspoon of water if needed. Heat 30 seconds at a time until hot.

Enjoy!

Source: I Heart Naptime



 

Hope you enjoyed the recipe! How was everyone’s holidays? I can’t believe that tomorrow is the first day of February! This year is already going so fast! The day after tomorrow is my dog’s 6th birthday. It really amazes me that I’ve already had him 5 1/2 years! Or a little less…not sure exactly when I got him… I know it’s been over 5 years. 😀  And one of my cats will be 6 in March, and my other one will be three in May! 😮 Slow down, Time!! 😉

Well, now that I’m done with my rant against time, I shall say goodbye. 🙂

Have a wonderful week!!

♥ Melanie ♥

Leave a Reply

